The Council is the governing body of the School and has overall responsibility for its operational and strategic management.

Credit: Anne Koerber/LSHTM

Council members fulfil their roles in accordance with the constitutional document of this Higher Education Institution (HEI), its Royal Charter, and subject to regulations for the operation of an HEI as determined by government and other external agencies.

The governing body of the School is its Council which is supported by various sub-committees.


Dame Marjorie Scardino (Chairman)

Marjorie Scardino was for 12 years chief executive of The Economist Group (first in America and then worldwide). After that she was, for 16 years, the chief executive of Pearson plc, the world's leading education company and the owner of Penguin books and The Financial Times Group and half of The Economist.

She retired from her Pearson position on January 1, 2013, and is currently the chairman of The MacArthur Foundation. MacArthur is one of the world's largest independent foundations, working on wide-ranging programs from community and economic development to digital learning to juvenile justice to international human rights, peace and security and environmental conservation. She is also chairman of the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, a 116-year-old organisation that is one of the world's most admired public health and global health research postgraduate institutions.

She is also a member of the non-profit boards of Pure Tech Health Inc.; The Royal College of Art; The Carter Center; on the Visiting Committee for the MIT Media Lab; Bridge International Academies (HQ – Kenya) and a member of the for-profit boards of IAG (comprising British Airways, Iberia and other airlines) and Twitter (the social media company).

Dame Marjorie was raised in Texas, trained as a lawyer and practiced in Georgia for a decade. She also began and ran there, with her husband, the Pulitzer-prize-winning Georgia Gazette newspaper. She has received a number of awards and honorary degrees from British and American universities and organisations, and in 2003 was made a Dame of the British Empire. She is also a member of the Royal Society of the Arts in the UK and the American Association of Arts and Sciences in America.

Dr Diana Walford (Deputy Chair)

Diana Walford has been a member of Council since 2009 and Deputy Chairman from 2010. Her long association with the School started in 1986 when, on sabbatical from the Department of Health (DH), she read for an MSc in Epidemiology. From 1989-2002 she was the Secretary of State’s nominee on the School’s Board of Management and from 2005-09 a co-opted member of the Court of Governors.

Trained as a haematologist, Diana spent sixteen years in the DH in a variety of senior posts, including as Head of the Division dealing with communicable diseases and the newly emerging HIV and AIDS. In 1989 she was appointed Deputy Chief Medical Officer for England and Director of Healthcare on the NHS Management Executive. In 1992 she became Director of the Public Health Laboratory Service (PHLS), leaving in 2002 to become Principal of Mansfield College, Oxford University. That year she was awarded CBE for services to public health. From 2005-09 she served on the NHS Blood and Transplant Authority Board. On retirement from Mansfield College in 2011 she was appointed a Non-Executive Director at UCLH NHS Foundation Trust and is also a Trustee of Sue Ryder and a member of the State Honours Committee.

Ms Ann Grant

Ann Grant worked at Standard Chartered Bank from 2005 – 2014, as Vice Chairman for Africa. Her earlier career was as a British diplomat. She joined the UK Diplomatic Service in 1971, with subsequent postings in India, Mozambique, Brussels (European Union) and New York (UK Mission to the UN). She also worked for two years as Communications Director for Oxfam UK in the late 1980s. From 1998 – 2000 she was Director for Africa and the Commonwealth at the UK Foreign Office, and from 2000 – 2005 was British High Commissioner to South Africa.

Ann is a member of the Boards of the Overseas Development Institute, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, and the Rift Valley Institute. She is the Senior Independent Director at Tullow Oil, and chairs the Serious Music Trust.

Mr John O’Donnell

John O’Donnell joined the Council of the School in 2011 and is the Chief Commercial Officer and General Counsel of Achilles Information. Achilles creates and manages a global network of collaborative industry communities, and provides validated data and insightful analytics to enable buyers to manage risk, and suppliers to increase market reach.

Prior to joining Achilles he was Business Development Director at Reed Elsevier, a senior executive at Accenture and a lawyer at NDS (News Digital Systems). John began his career as a trainee solicitor with Matheson, a leading Dublin law firm. He holds a BA and LLB from University College Galway, an LLM in Commercial Laws from Queen Mary University of London, and was admitted as a solicitor by the Law Society of Ireland in 1994.

Mr Paul Klingenstein

Profile to be added.

Mr Jon Roper

Jonathan Roper was a partner in the international law firm Eversheds LLP, specialising in merger and acquisition work for UK and overseas clients for over 30 years until his retirement from the firm in 2011. He is currently a director of Rights and Issues Investment Trust plc, a quoted investment trust investing in small and mid-cap companies and a Trustee of Hospice in the Weald, a charitable company providing hospice care in West Kent and East Sussex.


Peter Piot is the Director of the School. He was the founding Executive Director of UNAIDS and Under Secretary-General of the United Nations from 1995 until 2008, and was an Associate Director of the Global Programme on AIDS of WHO.

A clinician and microbiologist by training, he co-discovered the Ebola virus in Zaire in 1976, and subsequently led research on AIDS, women’s health, and public health in Africa. He has held positions at the Institute of Tropical Medicine, Antwerp, the Free University of Brussels, the University of Nairobi, the University of Washington, and was a Scholar in Residence at the Ford Foundation and a Senior Fellow at the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation. He held the chair 2009/2010 “Knowledge against poverty” at the College de France in Paris.

He is chair of both the MRC Global Health Group and the WHO Ebola Science Committee. He is a member of the Institute of Medicine of the US National Academy of Sciences, and of the Royal Academy of Medicine of his native Belgium, and a fellow of the Academy of Medical Sciences and the Royal College of Physicians. In 2008-11, he was the President of the King Baudouin Foundation and in 1995 his contribution was recognised by King Albert II of Belgium when he was made a baron. In 2013, he was awarded the Hideyo Noguchi Africa Prize for his achievements in medical research to combat infectious diseases in Africa and in 2014 the Prince Mahidol Award. He has published over 550 scientific articles and 16 books, including his acclaimed memoir No time to lose.

Chairman of the Student Representative Council
  • Farzana Kalladi Puthanpurayil, MSc
  • Lucinda Parr
Elected staff members
  • Professor Alison Grant
  • Dr Susannah Mayhew
  • Gemma Donaldson