2019-20 Mansfield Aders and Avebury Memorial Fund Scholarship

This award is an amalgamation of two awards: the Mansfield Aders Scholarship and the Avebury Memorial Fund.
- Dr Walter Mansfield Aders, Economic Biologist to the Government of Zanzibar, died in 1934. A bequest to the School endowed a scholarship in medical entomology and parasitology, which was known as the ‘Mansfield Aders Scholarship’.
- The Avebury Memorial Fund was a subscription fund raised to provide a memorial for Lord Avebury (1834-1913) who was the Vice Chancellor of the University of London from 1872 to 1880. The award was used for scholarships or research, especially in entomology.

This full-time one year studentship provides full tuition fees (at the UK/EU rate), including mandatory field trip fees.

Eligibility for Funding

This funding opportunity is open to all applicants who hold
(a) an offer of admission for 2019-20 entry for MSc Medical Parasitology or MSc Medical Entomology for Disease Control at London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine, and
(b) have been assessed as ‘Home for tuition fee purposes (shows on the Offer of Admission).

How to apply

To be considered for this funding, you must submit an MSc Online Application for either of the eligible MSc courses, along with all necessary supporting documentation, by the funding application deadline. There is no separate scholarship application process - all eligible candidates will be considered for this funding.

For scholarship purposes, applications submitted without all the necessary supporting documents are considered incomplete. Any applications for study that do not have all the necessary supporting documents at the scholarship deadline will be considered incomplete and therefore ineligible for this funding.

If you have any queries about the application process, scholarship requirements, or application deadline, please contact our Scholarships team:

Please note that if you are successful in obtaining an award, you must agree to abide by the relevant Terms & Conditions.


Applications and all necessary supporting documents must be received by midnight (BST) on Monday 6 May 2019.